Friday, October 28, 2016

Deborah Rising: A Novel Inspired by the Bible by Avraham Azrieli

Deborah Rising:
A Novel Inspired by the Bible
by Avraham Azrieli


Genre: Literature & Fiction > Religious & Inspirational Fiction
Print Length: 295 Pages
Publisher: HarperLegend
Publication Date: September 27, 2016

Connect with the author: Twitter // Goodreads // Website

Purchase Today via AMAZON





Set in ancient Israel, Deborah Rising (HarperCollins, 2016) portrays the dramatic rise of the first woman to lead a nation in recorded human history.
 
In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Mists of Avalon, this absorbing novel delivers an inspiring story of suspense and adventure in pursuit of freedom and self-determination, starring a courageous 14-year-old girl who would become the most powerful woman in biblical lore. Part historical novel, part adventure story, part visionary fiction, Deborah Rising is a captivating tale about a girl on the cusp of womanhood, whose unrelenting struggle to overcome discrimination, abuse, and paternalism speaks to the lives of girls and women today.

Courtesy of Amazon.com



Thursday, October 27, 2016

Uber Chronicles: Reflections from the Rearview Mirror by Jessie Newburn

Uber Chronicles:
Reflections from the Rearview Mirror
by Jessie Newburn



Genre: Short Reads > Two Hours or More (65-100 pages)
Print Length: 84 Pages
Publishers: Stellium Communications
Publication Date: October 24, 2016

Purchase Today via AMAZON
FREE via Kindle Unlimited 






 

Be a fly on the wall … or a fly in an Uber, as Jessie Newburn takes readers on a second voyage through her experiences as an Uber driver.

There’s a story told about each and every passenger who gets in her car. Whether she’s picking up a nervous young college student who fears she is casing his house for a robbery, a 50-year-old lawyer who wants to talk about his favorite strains of cannabis, or a young woman who’s taking a few bags to a nearby laundromat, each story provides a momentary look at someone’s life.

Says one of her readers from her first book, “Jessie Newburn is one of those amazing people who can size up people instantly and without pity, and yet can connect with their humanity without fail. In this book, she makes unflinchingly honest observations about people she gets to know in five minutes and will likely never see again ... Even readers who don't share her circumstances or those of her fares will nonetheless connect with the funny, insightful snapshots in this scrapbook of stories.”

Join the many other readers on this journey and discover why Jessie’s Uber Chronicles are striking such a chord of heart-warming resonance with so many people.

Beep!

Courtesy of Amazon.com

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

And I Darken by Kiersten White

And I Darken by Kiersten White


Saturday, October 22, 2016

Human Relations Indie Book Awards



The 2016 Human Relations Indie Book Awards centers on indie authors who have written books with a human relations focus related to various interactions among people in different settings such as work, organizations, school, home or in personal lives. 

There are opportunities to submit:
  • fiction
  • nonfiction
  • poetry
  • comic
  • children’s human relations books

Upcoming deadline is November 7, 2016

For contest information:
Visit http://humanrelationsindiebookawards.com

Thursday, October 20, 2016

The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward

The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward



"For generations, the Bradford family has worn the mantle of kings of the bourbon capital of the world. Their sustained wealth has afforded them prestige and privilege—as well as a hard-won division of class on their sprawling estate, Easterly. Upstairs, a dynasty that by all appearances plays by the rules of good fortune and good taste. Downstairs, the staff who work tirelessly to maintain the impeccable Bradford facade. And never the twain shall meet.

For Lizzie King, Easterly’s head gardener, crossing that divide nearly ruined her life. Falling in love with Tulane, the prodigal son of the bourbon dynasty, was nothing that she intended or wanted—and their bitter breakup only served to prove her instincts were right. Now, after two years of staying away, Tulane is finally coming home again, and he is bringing the past with him. No one will be left unmarked: not Tulane’s beautiful and ruthless wife; not his older brother, whose bitterness and bad blood know no bounds; and especially not the ironfisted Bradford patriarch, a man with few morals, fewer scruples, and many, many terrible secrets.

As family tensions—professional and intimately private—ignite, Easterly and all its inhabitants are thrown into the grips of an irrevocable transformation, and only the cunning will survive."

-Courtesy of: Amazon.com



I want to start off by saying that I've never read any of J.R. Ward's other books. The covers have always drawn my attention but I have never actually picked one up to read. This being said, I happened to pick this one up & take the time to read the synopsis. It sounded like something I'd really enjoy.

Flash forward to one day when I was trying to fill the void after finishing up one of my prior reads. I decided to take a look around on an app that my local library is a part of: Overdrive (Informative post coming soon).  I found this book listed on the app & decided to 'check it out'.

And Oh My Gosh! This book ended up being WAY more than I had expected. Don't worry- it's not a bad thing. Let me explain: I was, more or less, expecting a book full of very little other than romance between Lizzie & Tulane. What I got though... an assorted array of scandal & 'soap opera' like shenanigans. There were characters I loved & others that I hated. Questions were raised & I just did not want to put the book down.



{One of the Best!!}

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

5 Inspirational Books for Breast Cancer Awareness Month



Saturday, October 15, 2016

I Have a Confession...


I want to start this post by saying that this is one of the hardest things I've ever shared with anyone. I've debated (for quite a while) on if I even wanted to throw this one 'secret' out into the universe. For the longest while, the answer was 'No way!'. As time continues to pass however, I'm beginning to believe that the only way to work through this specific problem is to share it with you guys.

Please be delicate with me about this. It's something I'm not proud of & only a few close friends are aware of. Okay... Are you ready to be shocked?

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

The Diviners: by Libba Bray - Book Review

  The Diviners by Libba Bray